Customer Reviews

Customer Testimonials About SCA Transmission Repair

https://plus.google.com/111046214077493720552

http://www.kudzu.com/m/Southern-California-Transmission-16920885/reviews/

http://www.yelp.com/biz/sca-transmission-san-diego

“Still new to San Diego. Had taken my car in for servicing and two days later the engine started to shake and it would not start while driving. Broke down in Old Town and managed to get to Kurtz and Freeway intersection. I had no clue which way I was headed or how to direct the tow truck. All of a sudden Kevan (Manager) comes around the corner and offers to help (like a God sent angel). He pushed my SUV off the curve so I wouldn’t get hit by traffic and took a look at the car. He offered me his card but said I was welcome to make any arrangements I wished. I called the place that had serviced the car originally and they were going to charge me again anyway so I called my roadside assistance and asked them to tow me to SCA Transmission. Ron and the service crew were not only courteous but they immediately explained the process and what I could expect. They only charged for 1hr of inspection plus minor labor to clean out my spark plugs. They also found 2 service recalls that need to be handled by the dealer and gave me the number for Mossy Nissan which is the Nissan establishment they interact most frequently with. I called and got a same day appointment. Had to have my car towed to the dealer and missed the tow truck at SCA so SCA arranged for me to have a ride to the dealer so I would not have to incur an additional expense. When I got to the dealer there indeed were 2 service recalls just as the SCA folks stated. One was taken care of in less than 30min and I was able to drive my car out immediately. The other will take more time and I have a follow-up appointment scheduled. My mother is visiting from out of town and was extremely relieved we were in such good hands (she also got a really good cup of Java while we were finalizing bills etc at SCA). HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!” Satisfied Google User

“This place is a great find. Kevan is honest, thorough and incredibly knowledgeable. He genuinely cares about his customers and is just out to fix you car and make your day better, with as little drama as possible. His shop is a “one stop” place where he can address any issue you might be having with your vehicle, whether it’s a major repair or a routine service. I would trust him to tell you the honest truth about what needs to be done to your car and and give you a very fair price. I will be back for sure.” Alex from San Diego

“So I have only been in San Diego for about 7 months now and when my car began making noises I had to find another mechanic all over again. Luckily I found Kevan! Talk about a honest guy. His shop is primarily dedicated to repairing and rebuilding transmissions but he really knows cars inside and out so I trusted him with my noisy engine. I had a feeling a part was going out in my Acura, but what he found was a simple fix! Moral of the story is take that little foil cap COMPLETELY off your power steering can so you don’t poor it into the system too! Yes it can cause trouble and someone could have completely ripped me off and I would have never known any better. Secondly if you have any automotive problems take your rig over to Kevans shop!! Trust me you won’t let anyone else touch your car once you work with Kevan.” Happy Google Review from San Diego

“Alex- May 11, 2011. Great customer service. Kevan knows what he is doing and he has great experience. He recommended at customer’s view point and tried to help me understand tech terms. Very reasonable price. I saved $$$ using his recommendations. The work was done right first time. Now I feel comfortable driving my car. Thank you Kevan very much” Another Satisfied Customer 

“Kevan is honest, genuine, friendly, knowledgeable, thorough, and inexpensive — everything you could possibly want in a mechanic. For me, being able to trust my mechanic is really important (as is not being up-sold on a bunch of repairs I don’t really need). My wife and I live in LA and were on vacation here in San Diego when we started having some mysterious car trouble. Internet research led me to SCA Transmission, and boy am I glad it did. I asked them to do an oil change and to see if they could figure out what was wrong. It turned out to be an easy fix, so they only charged me for the oil change! Kevan also took the time to answer a few questions and to give me some helpful advice for keeping the car running smoothly and improving my gas mileage, all without making me feel like a moron. If (when) we have major car trouble in the future, I would seriously consider driving all the way down here again.” Happy Google user review

6/28/12  “What a great experience! When one has car problems, panic sets in and the fear of having your wallet drained is an overwhelming one. I met with Kevan who took a look at my car. I knew it was the transmission, and he confirmed what my friend had suggested. Kevan was very fast in fixing my car, and he charged me much less than some of the other quotes I got out there. He was also very professional and friendly. These people are extremely flexible, good at what they do, and this was an awesome experience in so many ways. I recommend them to all my friends.” Jen Saunders, San Diego

8/19/12 “I have taken two vehicles So Cal Transmission in the last month.  After excellent, low-cost service for my son’s car, we decided to also take all of our business trucks there as well. Our first car would not go into any gear.  It was an old vehicle, not worth a rebuilt transmission.  Kevin understood this and ended up fixing it for under $300.  He also gave us good advice on other issues the car had.  (Which all worked out, too!)The next month, one of our business trucks started acting up.  Kevin examined it for two days, checking everything, but could not re-create the issue and couldn’t find any problem.  Gave us back the truck.  We wanted to pay him for his time.  He said “NO!”  What an honest guy.  This is the kind of business you return to over and over.  I highly recommend So Cal Transmission.  We will be taking all of our home and fleet vehicles (we have nine of them) to Kevin from now on.”  A.S. , San Deigo

7/10/2012  “I took my Honda Civic to SCA Transmission last week for a suspected transmission problem.  I was coming up the mountain from El Centro when the car started to jerk and slowed down to 40 miles per hour.  After that it would run in top gear unless I was going down hill.  SCA offered a free inspection so I would have an idea of what I would be up for before I commit to the repair.  I was expecting anywhere between $1500 to $2000.  They found that a censer had failed and quoted a maximum of $300.  Of cause I said, go ahead.  The car was ready the next day as promised and the price was $270.00 – another pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this business to anyone needing auto repairs.  I found out while there they also do general automotive repairs.” Phillip B., San Diego

6/18/12 “I can’t say enough positive things about Kevin and his team. Bottom line:  I was referred here by my local auto mechanic for to get my car checked out for a transmission issue.  Kevin kept my car overnight called me the next day saying he thought he could fix the issue in an hour for a total of 106$ (labor).  After getting my ok he went to work and fixed the problem.  Ended up being a simple spark plug issue and he didn’t charge me a dime.  What an honest, and reliable guy!  Can’t ask for more out an auto shop.  Definitely recommend SCA transmission for any car issues.” E.H., Del Mar, Ca

5/7/12 “So I have only been in San Diego for about 7 months now and when my car began making noises I had to find another mechanic all over again. Luckily I found Kevan! Talk about a honest guy. His shop is primarily dedicated to repairing and rebuilding transmissions but he really knows cars inside and out so I trusted him with my noisy engine. I had a feeling a part was going out in my Acura, but what he found was a simple fix! Moral of the story is take that little foil cap COMPLETELY off your power steering can so you don’t pour it into the system too! Cause if you do then you don’t look so smart. Yes it can cause trouble and someone could have completely ripped me off and I would have never known any better.If you have any automotive problems take your rig over to Kevans shop!! Trust me you won’t let anyone else touch your car once you work with Kevan.” Serge L., Hillcrest, San Diego

4/23/12 “SCA Transmission is 1 of a kind!!!  First place that I have found that actually does what they are supposed too.  I brought my car in with transmission trouble and was counseled about my options from the beginning.  They did not wait until the car was apart and the bill was adding up to let me know me know it was going to cost me.  They are knowledgeable and fair with their rates.  I would recommend them to anyone looking to have repairs on their vehicles.  Please give them a call before you have your car checked out by anyone else.  Worked for me and I’m happier for it.  Thanks, SCA Transmission!” Austin A., San Diego, Ca

4/7/2011 “this is the second time that i have brought my vehicle into the shop THANK YOU KEVAN AND TEAM! you are all kind courteous and amazing! they dont just put a bandaid on what they think is the problem and then throw it back to you i cannot believe how much time and effort they put into my vehicle to make sure that it was as close to 100% as it was when it was first made 10 years ago. i have had some major services done and yet kevan keeps me updated as often as he can and explains it all! i actually understand why things were happening and that what i thought was wrong actually was! i cannot say enough great things about this business i trust kevan and his team to the fullest and will never go anywhere else!  thank you!”  Jenna S., San Diego, Ca

10/5/12  “When it comes to car repairs it isn’t uncommon for people to shop around for the lowest possible price.  Needless to say I searched diligently to find the most trustworthy, best quality, most knowledgeable and fairest pricing transmission shop when the transmission in my Honda went out.  I had an offer as low as $1,700 at a shop that turned out to be some guy’s house in the ghetto when I drove by just to see the place and as high as $4,000 at a non-dealer shop that was highly recommended. After searching an infinite number of places I found Kevan at SCA Transmission.  Our initial conversation he gave me the specs and a price range with a warranty that was beyond reasonable. The warranty was a two year warranty which was great considering the dealership only offered a year warranty, if that.  He definitely did not jerk me around, he said it could be as low as ‘X’ but wouldn’t exceed ‘X’.  As it turns out, there were other things he did call to inform me about that were in need of repair (which I already aware of).  I discussed those items with him and he said he would be able to do if I would like.  Of course we talked prices and the costs of those additional items were only a small fraction of the cost in comparison to the price given from another shop.  I ended paying exactly what Kevan stated which made me happy.  After paying for the repairs, Kevan made sure to be clear that with the transmission fix, the warranty required me to come back after 15 days to have a quick test run to be sure all the repairs made were operating properly (which they were).  On a final note, Kevan was professional, always returned calls, was exceptionally knowledgeable, very patient with all my questions.  Overall Kevan reminded of my uncle whom I hold in high regard and greatly respect as my uncle is who I go to regarding car repairs since he vastly knowledgeable in mechanics.  I am a lifetime customer to SCA Transmission.”  Jill M., San Diego

5/29/12 “What a great shop!! Kevan was a huge help when my son David was in San Diego.  We live in San Jose and my son was visiting friends.  On the drive down he began having transmission problems on his old Toyota Corolla.  I called Kevan at 3 on a Friday afternoon to see if he could take a look at the car.  We had the car towed to his shop arriving around 4.  He dropped everything to take a look at the car.  It was quickly determined that it was terminal.  With over 200K miles we decide the repair would be more that the car was worth.  Kevan let my son leave the car in front of his shop and helped us arrange for the car to be donated.   Kevan did not charge us a dime to inspect the car or for leaving the car at his shop until it was picked up for donation.  I can not thank Kevan enough for the great service!!” Alan G., Campbell, Ca

5/6/12 “Kevan is honest, genuine, friendly, knowledgeable, thorough, and inexpensive — everything you could possibly want in a mechanic. For me, being able to trust my mechanic is really important (as is not being up-sold on a bunch of repairs I don’t really need). My wife and I live in LA and were on vacation here in San Diego when we started having some mysterious car trouble. Internet research led me to SCA Transmission, and boy am I glad it did. I asked them to do an oil change and to see if they could figure out what was wrong. It turned out to be an easy fix, so they only charged me for the oil change! Kevan also took the time to answer a few questions and to give me some helpful advice for keeping the car running smoothly and improving my gas mileage, all without making me feel like a moron. If (when) we have major car trouble in the future, I would seriously consider driving all the way down here again.  Matthew C., Los Angeles, Ca

12/7/12 Best place to get your car fixed. I brought my car in when I had my ’99 Malibu. I needed the transmission looked at. They are the most honest/trustworthy place I know in Southern California. They are reasonably priced and put out quality service. They know cars better than any mechanic I have dealt with in SoCal and I have had to deal with quite a few as I reach to get back over to them. I would use them more if his business was closer to me but arranging a ride is difficult for me most of the time. However I always first think of SCA Transmissions to maintain my car. They run a great business and all there staff are very friendly.” Jake F., San Diego, Ca

1/9/12  “I have two older vehicles, so unfortunately I’ve had to spend quite a bit of money over the last three years on car repairs.  Thank goodness, that shortly after moving to San Diego, somebody recommended So. Cal. Transmission. These guys are the best.  Good work at fair prices.  However, way by far the best part is the manager, Kevin Peck, who is as honest as the day is long.  Since there is so much fraud in the auto repair business, finding someone who you can really trust, who won’t lie to you about your car, or try to sell you repairs you don’t need IS BY FAR THE MOST IMPORTANT THING.  One time another shop told me I had a blown head gasget.  Since it was a major repair, I wanted to take the car back to So. Cal. Trans.  I did, and low and behold, there was no blown gasket at all.  Liars and thieves those other guys!!!  Despite their name, So.Cal.Trans. does way more than just transmissions.  As far as I can tell, they do everything mechanical — just not body work.  Since I know for an absolute fact that I can trust Kevin Peck, I will never take my cars anywhere else for service. Sincerely, Gary E. Hollinden.” Gary Hollinden, San Diego, Ca